Related Articles

Magdaline Rhymer appointed new PSC Chairman

GIS - Monday, February 6th, 2012 at 7:23 PM

Monday, February 6 – His Excellency the Governor Mr. Boyd McCleary, CMG, CVO acting after consultation with the Premier Dr. the Hon. D. Orlando Smith, OBE has appointed Magdaline Rhymer as a member and Chairman of the Public Service Commission (PSC) for a period of one year effective February 1 until January 31, 2013.

The Governor was acting in accordance to Section 91(1)(a) and Section 91 (2) of the Virgin Islands Constitution Order, 2007. Section 91(1)(a) of the Constitution states that “two of the members of the Public Service Commission shall be appointed by the Governor acting in his or her discretion.” Section 91(2) states, “The Governor, acting after consultation with the Premier, shall appoint one of the five members of the Public Service Commission to be Chairman of the Commission.”

Ms. Rhymer who succeeds Mrs. Antoinette Skelton, who has served in the capacity of Chairman of the PSC since, 25th January, 2006 is no stranger to the public service as she served as the Chief Personnel Officer (now Director of Human Resources) from April 1989 to April 2002.

The Governor thanked Mrs. Skelton for her many years of dedicated service to the PSC not only in the position of Chairman but also as a member, and for the time and effort she invested in developing the BVI public service.

The Public Service Commission advises the Governor on appointments to the public service and on promotions and disciplinary matters in the service. The other members of the Commission are Ms. Dawn Smith, Reverend Julian Clarke, Mrs. Patsy Lake and Mr. Ishmael Scatliffe.

This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers.

Post a Comment

:) :-D :wink: :( 8-O :lol: :-| :cry: 8) :-? :-P :-x :?: :oops: :twisted: :mrgreen: more »