BVI News

BVI brings home squash championship title

Photo provided

The British Virgin Islands (BVI) has won the title of Overall Senior Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Squash Champion.

It was represented by 15 players in competitions against St Vincent and The Grenadines (SVG), as well as St Lucia in the Senior OECS Individual and Team Championships held in SVG from June 1 to 3.

While securing most points during the tournament, the BVI also took top spots in the Men’s Individuals won by Joseph Chapman, Joe Faragher-Kneipp in the Men’s 40+, and Neville Sorrentino in the Men’s 50+.

BVI also came first in the Women’s Individuals won by Daniela Schumann.

It continued to shine in the Men’s Vet Team, when Joe Faragher-Kneipp beat James Bentick (SVG) 3:0 in the Men’s 40+, Neville Sorrentino won 3:1 against Colin Alexander (SVG) in the Men’s 50+, and Winston Findlay took the match 3:1 against Keith Boyea (SVG) in the Men’s 60+.

In relation to the Women’s Team, Daniela Schumann beat Giovanna Miller-Alexander in 3 straight games, as did Zoe Sorrentino playing against Gianna Miller-Alexander (SVG).

The BVI players included Michael Adamson, Dion Anselm, Anthony Campbell, Joseph Chapman, Mark Chapman, Paul Cowlard, Caroline Dubois, Joe Faragher-Kneipp, Winston Findlay, Tatenda Gotosa, Daniela Schumann, Neville Sorrentino, Sue Sorrentino, Zoe Sorrentino, and Richard Taylor.

The results of the OECS Squash Championships determine the players that will make up the OECS teams to compete in the Caribbean Area Squash Association Championships, which this year will take place from August 13 to 19 in SVG.

The OECS Men’s Team comprises Joe Faragher-Kneipp (BVI), Joseph Chapman (BVI), Neville Sorrentino (BVI), Jules Snagg (SVG), James Bentick (SVG), Keith Boyea (SVG), Jason Doyle (SVG), Kevin Hannaway (SVG), Kai Bentick (SVG), and Othniel Bailey (SVG).

The OECS Women’s Team includes Daniela Schumann (BVI), Zoe Sorrentino (BVI), Caroline Dubois (BVI), Gianna Miller-Alexander (SVG) Thandi Myers (SVG), Greta Primus (SVG), and Sherian Slater(SVG).

The OECS Team Manager is Mark Chapman.

Copyright 2021 BVI News, Media Expressions Limited. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Leave a Comment