BVI News

BVIPA announces holiday schedule, extends hours for cargo clearance

The Port Purcell cargo facility on Tortola. (Photo credit: Andre ‘Shadow’ Dawson/BVI News)

With a number of closures scheduled for the BVI Ports Authority (BVIPA) because of the upcoming holidays, the Authority will be extending its opening hours for cargo clearance on Tortola and Virgin Gorda.

For a limited time, the BVIPA will open for an additional hour on select days in January.

Residents and businesses will be able to clear their cargo on Saturday, January 2, a week later on January 9, and again on Saturday, January 16.

The cargo facilities will open from 8:30 am to 3:30 pm on those dates.

As for the BVIPA’s holiday schedule, the public is advised that its facilities will close early on Christmas Eve, closed on Christmas Day, and reopened on Boxing Day. Other closures are also scheduled thereafter.

The BVIPA’s full holiday schedule is as follows:

Holiday Schedule
Thursday, December 24 — Closes 1 pm
Friday, December 25 — Closed
Saturday, December 26 — Opens 8:30 am to 3:30 pm
Monday, December 28 — Closed in lieu of Boxing Day
Thursday, December 31 — Closes 1 pm
Friday, January 1 — Closed 

Extended Hours for Cargo Clearance
Saturday, January 2 — 8:30 am to 3:30 pm
Saturday, January 9 — 8:30 am to 3:30 pm
Saturday, Jan 16 — 8:30 am to 3:30 pm

Copyright 2021 BVI News, Media Expressions Limited. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Leave a Comment

Shares