BVI News

ESHS win 2019 inter-secondary school debates

ESHS’ winning debaters stand among Chief Education Officer Connie George (left) and Education Minister Dr Natalio Wheatley. (GIS photo)

Elmore Stoutt High School (ESHS) has won the 2019 Inter-Secondary School Debate competition.

The ESHS emerged as victors by outperforming Cedar International School during the grand finals of the competition on Wednesday at the Althea Scatliffe Primary School courtyard in Road Town.

The yearly competition started in February and schools such as St George’s Secondary, Claudia Creque Educational Centre, Ciboney Centre for Excellence, Virgin Islands School of Technical Studies and the Bregado Flax Educational Centre Secondary Division participated.

Education Minister Dr Natalio Wheatley applauded the staging of the annual competition.

“Debates are an important part of the democratic process, and we need much more in our society,” he said.

“We need to teach our young people skills such as critical thinking, information literacy skills, and how to deal with conflict. And based on what I see here today, we are on the right track.”

Another significant win

This victory for the ESHS marks the second major debate win for the school in recent times.

In February last year, the school walked away with the major prize of $10,000 for a school project after emerging the victors of the Recovery and Development Plan Competition.

Second place for that competition went to Bregado Flax Educational Centre, who walked away with a $5,000 prize.

Notably, the said competition was an avenue for students to give their input on the government’s proposed recovery plan for the territory.

Copyright 2021 BVI News, Media Expressions Limited. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.


Disclaimer: BVI News and its affiliated companies are not responsible for the content of comments posted or for anything arising out of use of the comments below or other interaction among the users.

  1. Proud Mom says:

    Congratulations to all

  2. nonsense says:

    the DEBATERS name should have been mentioned ,
    any way congrats to THEM .

    Like 6
    Dislike 3
  3. Important says:

    Please publish the names of the students in order that they receive due recognition for their hard work. This is very important.

    Like 8
    Dislike 3
  4. debate says:


    Like 4
    Dislike 1
  5. ? says:

    ESHS wins, not ESHS win.

  6. Congrats says:

    Congrats to Akeya Herbert. Aunty is soooo proud of you.

Leave a Comment