BVI News

First national basketball champs to be awarded rings

Ruff House, the first champions in the Hon Julian Fraser Save the Seed Basketball League will be awarded Rings in keeping with directors’ promise.

Ruff House, the first champions in the Hon Julian Fraser Save the Seed Basketball League will be awarded rings in keeping with directors’ promise.

PRESS PRELEASE: When the Honourable Julian Fraser’s Save the Seed National Basketball League started in August of 2013, there were no rings awarded for the first championship team. However, following that year (2014) a decision was made by the directors to award rings to all Championship teams going forward.

It meant that only Ruff House, the 2013 championship team was without rings.

Both founders of the popular basketball league – Third District Representative Honourable Julian Fraser RA, and Bishop John I. Cline of the Save the Seed Energy Centre – made the decision and promised to give rings to the first championship team.

They both have been true to their word.

According to Chairperson of the Honourable Julian Fraser National Basketball League Committee Mrs Kharid T. Fraser, the 2013 Championship Team Ruff House will be awarded their rings on Saturday March 18.

Mrs Fraser confirmed that all Ruff House players who participated in the 2013 Championship team along with their coach will be given championship rings.

Both founders and directors Honourable Fraser and Bishop Cline are expected to be on hand to witness the handing over of the rings.

Planning has also started for the 2017 league which is now in its fifth year. Mrs Fraser promised that in the coming weeks, the date for the league will be announced, along with other logistical information.

The 2016 championship team Splash Brothers will be given their rings in August at the opening ceremony of the 2017 season.

The 2014 to 2016 championship rings for the Hon Julian Fraser Save the Seed Basketball League have been sponsored by Digicel, BVI.

The 2013 championship rings are sponsored by the league.

In 2013 Ruff House a team from Belle Vue on Tortola was the first championship team. Bayside Blazers were the champs in 2014, while West Gunners were the 2015 victors. Splash Brothers are the reigning champions.

The Hon Julian Fraser Save the Seed League is governed by International Basketball Federation rules, is endorsed by the BVI Basketball Federation, and has its own by-laws and governing committee.

Copyright 2021 BVI News, Media Expressions Limited. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Leave a Comment