BVI News

Lions host well-attended gala

A relatively large crowd gathered at the Lions 45th Anniversary Gala and Fundraiser convened at the Moorings Mariner Restaurant on Friday, April 28.

The event highlighted the partnership between Lions and the H Lavity Stout Community College (HLSCC) for construction of a VI Heritage Resource Centre.

The purpose-built facility will provide classroom and consultation spaces, offices, a small dedicated library, and temperature-controlled display room for artifacts.

Surrounding the Centre, there will be a ‘heritage village,’ a functional boiling house, a traditional thatch-roofed house, a coal pit, an out-house, a traditional well, and a working stone/brick oven.

A garden containing medicinal plants and crops – once vital to the British Virgin Islands economy and people – will complete the village.

HLSCC representative Dr Janet Smith reminded the audience that the passion for the study of Virgin Islands history at the college was the brainchild of the college’s Chairman Dr Charles Wheatley.

He added that, since establishment in 1998, the Virgin Islands Studies Institute has collected thousands of delicate artifacts and treasured historic Virgin Islands documents that should be on display.

The fundraising event was attended by various persons, including Premier Dr D Orlando Smith, Leader of the Opposition Andrew Fahie, Lions MD60 Council Chair Marvin Grant, as well as guest speaker Dr Wayne Frederick who is president of Howard University.

President of the Lions Club of Tortola Carvin Malone, in the meantime, declared that the most successful aspect of his current Lionistic year is the induction of 16 young and enthusiastic Lions into the newly formed Tortola Central Club Branch. A further six enthusiastic Lions were inducted into the Tortola Lions Club.

Those inductions, Malone added, will ensure a greater level of service and future for Lionism in the territory.

The club also used the event to recognize the stellar service of its first five presidents – Terence Erskine, John Wong, Edgar Hewlett, Sydney Braithwaite, and Dr Samuel George.

Copyright 2021 BVI News, Media Expressions Limited. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Leave a Comment